Update

Hi guys!

So I haven’t been able to post a lot recently. If you read my last post you’d know that I haven’t been very well. Whilst I was on holiday in Cyprus I was admitted into hospital as I was having excruciating pains in my lower back area (The right flank for all you medics out there). They did an ultrasound on me and decided I needed to be admitted – I had a kidney infection in my right kidney and they found cystine kidney stones in my left kidney. The hospital was amazing – within one hour I’d had an ultrasound, been put into a private room (with ensuite and a bed for H to sleep in… AND a balcony), had an IV put in, and had an X-ray.. So they were sUPER quick. If I’d have gone to a&e in the UK I’d have been waiting 5 hours just to be seen by a doctor (As I found out the other day!).

I still had the best holiday – but it’s not easy to enjoy yourself when you’re in pain all the time! plus is wasn’t just my holiday, it was H’s as well, so I had to grin and bear it as much as I could – he gets majorly stressed when I’m not well and I didn’t want him to worry! To make matters worse I was in A&E on Monday with excruciating period pains (I almost passed out), so I’ve been bed-bound since I got back from Cyprus – I cleaned our bathroom the other day and ended up in agony afterwards. It’s literally being stuck in bed – which I am NOT good at!

I’ve suffered a lot over the past few years with kidney problems, and I’ve suffered for nearly 10 years with a more personal and womanly issue – REALLY painful periods, to the point of passing out and being sick. I think this is something people need to hear about so they know they aren’t on their own if they’re experiencing anything like this. I’ve been very docile with my healthcare and only now have I decided I’m not going to sit back untreated anymore. I’m going to write 2 separate blogs, one for my kidneys and one for the period pains. I really hope someone can relate to them – I’ve heard a lot of stories, and through my research I found them helpful, so hopefully I can do the same for someone else.

Keep your eyes peeled for tomorrow,

love Caitlan x

Leave a Reply

