My first 9 day Cleanse

Hey guys!

I’m very excited that tomorrow I will be starting my first ever cleanse – slightly nervous, but super excited to see what my results will be!

My mission for this cleanse is to clear out all the toxins, and condition my mind to be ready for a change in my diet. I’m not really looking to lose weight, a few inches off my waist wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world but I’m reasonably happy with the weight I’m at – considering I’m quite tall for a girl (5’7 / 175cm) – just definitely need to start toning up and unleashing the sexy lady I know is inside of me somewhere! The booklet does show some example work out routines, and I’ll definitely try a few of the exercises but I’m currently developing my own with my PT (AKA my partner H), and I’m really happy with it – but there’s always room for improvement so I’m sure I’ll pick up a few exercises over the 9 day course.

The little booklet that came with my cleanse had a section where you write down your measurements before the cleanse and after it. My before measurements are:

  • Waist: 27 inches
  • Thighs: 22 Inches
  • Hips: 38 Inches
  • Chest: 33 Inches
  • Bicep: 10 Inches
  • Calves: 14 Inches
  • Weight: 10.5 Stone / 66.6kg / 147lbs

I won’t be reweighing or measuring myself until the 9 days are done, so I’ll share my post cleanse results to see if it made any difference!

I think the thing I’m most nervous about is when the evenings start to come – during the day I feel really good, and the weather is amazing at the moment in London and something comes over me like ‘yeah, I’m so healthy and I love broccoli and salad’, but as soon as it starts getting dark I’m sat on Instagram and Facebook watching videos of people making towers of nachos, lemon cheesecake and those weird cake things that people stick their spoons into and it’s all gooey on the top – I mean come on.. I have the worst nacho obsession and sweet tooth. I’ve tried substituting things, like making a fruit salad with yoghurt and granola but in reality it’s never going to compare to eating cheesecake till I feel like I’m never going to be able to eat anything ever again. Another thing I’m going to struggle with is not being able to drink fizzy drinks – I haven’t quite come to terms with this yet so I’ll let you know how I get on.

Another thing I need to work on is my moderations. I am TERRIBLE at this. Eating in moderation are three words I hate being used together in a sentence. If I go to the cinema, it won’t be a little cheat night – I’ll have a large ice blast, large sweet popcorn, 2 scoops of Ben & Jerry’s cookie dough with hot fudge on the top AND probably a pick’n’mix too (yeah I know we all do it – it’s not just me).. I need to learn that having a ‘cheat day’ doesn’t mean completely eating my body weight in crap until H has to roll me out of the cinema or restaurant or wherever we are. I mean don’t get me wrong, I won’t be completely cutting out my favourite things like sweets and ice cream – but for me personally, if I went crazy on my ‘cheat day’, it would turn into a frenzy and I won’t stop. I know myself and I know my body, I envy the people who can have a full blown cheat day with pizzas and ice cream and sweets and cakes – but I cannot do this. Right now I think I’ll allow myself one treat a week – BUT do some healthy alternative IF I can – I love frozen yoghurt and I probably enjoy it the same as ice cream, so I’d have that instead if I had a craving. I will be learning along the way, changing and improving my diet and still finding out what works for me in terms of finding the right balance. Life is for you to enjoy! make sure you aren’t being unfair on yourself. If you completely cut out all the foods you like that aren’t so healthy, you’ll start to hate your diet – have that odd magnum or glass of prosecco, just don’t over due it!. I used to find it so annoying when people said moderation – but that is really what it’s about!

The first 2 days don’t actually allow you to have a full meal – theres a list of free foods that I can have unlimited amounts of, but no meals. These two days will be my toughest I think. Firstly because no sweet potato for me (I live off sweet potato), and secondly because my energy levels will drop so much, I think it’ll feel weird not being able to do a good workout (It advises you to do 30 mins of light exercise, like go for a walk), not sure how much I’ll like that to be honest  – like on Friday I didn’t do a workout in the morning like most mornings, I was waiting until I could use my Father-in-Laws gym with H so he could train me in there in the evening, but my energy levels were so different not having worked out! (Probably doesn’t help that I was up most of Thursday night organising my blog!) but I know I’m going to feel SO great after those two first days are done.

Anyway, I look forward to posting my progress and tell everyone how I’m getting on!! Make sure you contact me if you have any questions about anything I’m doing!

lots of love

Caitlan x

motivational_im_working_on_a_new_me_not_because_the_old_me_is_bad_but_because_the_old_me_can_improve

Leave a Reply

